Explore: Udvar-Hazy Air and Space Museum

What is so interesting about a museum about an Air and Space Museum?

Everything.

From airplanes to space shuttles, the Udvar-Hazy Air and Space Museum located in Chantilly, Virginia is not only the site of one of the most iconic scenes in Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, but it is also a wonderful learning experience for people of all ages.

My first visit was in the sixth grade, when my teacher announced a field trip to the Air and Space Museum. Now, the previous field trips were exciting adventures such as a trip to Camp Highroads (which was rescheduled, due to the Swine Flu breakout) and to Mount Vernon. For this reason, I was excessively underwhelmed–isn’t a field trip supposed to be exciting? Thrilling? Fun?

Additionally, there were preconceived notions. I recalled visiting the Air and Space Museum in the District of Columbia, and, as far as I could remember, it was the most mundane experience I had ever experienced. After all, the Air and Space Museum acted as the “back-up plan” for when it was raining during Summer SACC.

“Is it the Air and Space Museum in D.C.?” I asked.

“It’s the new museum near Dulles Airport,” she replied enthusiastically. “They have a tower where you can see the planes land and take off from the runway and a whole area devoted to NASA.”

NASA. Immediately, I my feelings transformed from apathetic to enthralled. At the time, I was interested in the uncertainty of space; black holes, neutron stars, the moon, and Jupiter.

The minute my mother came home, I showed her the permission slip.

“I’ve heard excellent comments about the Udvar-Hazy Air and Space Museum,” my mom said, upon reading the provisions of the field trip. “I might volunteer to be a chaperone.”

Excited, I returned the signed permission slip to my teacher, and anticipated the field trip. At it’s arrival, all of the students squeezed into the yellow school bus and rode to the Air and Space Museum.

That day, I learned many interesting facts, not just about air planes and space shuttles, but about science in general.  The moment I entered the doors of the Udvar-Hazy museum was the moment I entered a realm of education and wonder.

Since the sixth grade, I have revisited the Udvar Hazy museum three times, and each time, I learn more about the wonderful artifacts within; the exploration into science never stops.

Featured Image Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

